January 31, 2014

101 Reel-to-Reel Tapes 36: Joan Baez ~ Blessed Are . .

Joan Baez ~ Blessed Are . .
reel-to-reel album box cover detail
detail photo by Styrous®

In addition to my 20,000 Vinyl LP collection I'm selling, I have reel-to-reel, pre-recorded tapes I am selling as well.

This entry is about the reel-to-reel tape, Blessed Are . ., by Joan Baez. For more information, contact me by email but please, not through a comment.

~ ~ ~

This is a 'Double Play', 3¾ ips, reel-to-reel tape. The original vinyl version of this album (which I have) was released as a double album, it included a bonus 7" 33 rpm record with the songs Maria Dolores and Woody Guthrie's Deportee, which she dedicated to the farmers of the world, adding, "May they soon cease to be victims."

reel-to-reel box front
photo by Styrous®

There are so many wonderful songs on this album; The Salt Of The Earth by Mick Jagger and Keith Richards, The Brand New Tennessee Waltz, Deportee (Plane Wreck At Los Gatos) by Woody Guthrie and Martin Hoffman, Let It Be by John Lennon and Paul McCartney (how could you go wrong with this?) and, one of my favorite cuts, Help Me Make It Through the Night by Kris Kristofferson, to name just some of them.    

reel-to-reel box back
photo by Styrous®

Baez' voice rings beautiful and true on all the songs from, The Night They Drove Old Dixie Down, by Robbie Robertson; to the bouncey, exuberante and sensual, Help Me Make It Through the Night.

reel-to-reel box back detail
detail photo by Styrous®

On Let It Be she breaks loose and flies into the heavens backed up by a gorgeous female chorus with the inspirational, hopeful wish that all will be good when all is said and done. 

photo by Styrous®

Marie Flore is a charming waltz, with an oboe at times, that flows and wanders dreamily and lovely. And there is nothing that can rival the beautiful feeling of Maria Dolores with it's lush orchestral backing and Mexicano drama (links to music videos on YouTube below).

reel-to-reel tape label detail
detail photo by Styrous®

Deportee (Plane Wreck At Los Gatos) is an indictment of the immigration problem in this country.  It's interesting that the song, written over 40 years ago, is as pertinent today. Just the night before, President Obama gave a State of the Union address citing the need for immigration reform.

Track listing:

All tracks composed by Joan Baez; except where indicated

Side 1:
  1. "Blessed Are..." – 3:03
  2. "The Night They Drove Old Dixie Down" (Robbie Robertson) – 3:22
  3. "The Salt Of The Earth" (Mick Jagger, Keith Richards) – 3:22
  4. "Three Horses" – 7:03
  5. "The Brand New Tennessee Waltz" (Jesse Winchester) – 3:07
  6. "Last, Lonely And Wretched" – 3:42
  7. "Lincoln Freed Me Today (The Slave)" (D. Patton) – 3:21
  8. "Outside The Nashville City Limits" – 3:20
  9. "San Francisco Mabel Joy" (Mickey Newbury) – 4:23
  10. "When Time Is Stolen" – 2:58
  11. "Deportee (Plane Wreck At Los Gatos)" (Woody Guthrie, Martin Hoffman) – 5:15
 Side 2:
  1. "Heaven Help Us All" (Roger Miller) – 3:32
  2. "Angeline" (Mickey Newbury) – 3:37
  3. "Help Me Make It Through the Night" (Kris Kristofferson) – 2:58
  4. "Let It Be" (John Lennon, Paul McCartney) – 3:48
  5. "Put Your Hand In The Hand" (Gene MacLellan) – 3:20
  6. "Gabriel And Me" – 3:27
  7. "Milanese Waltz/Marie Flore" – 5:55
  8. "The Hitchhikers' Song" – 4:19
  9. "The 33rd Of August" (Mickey Newbury) – 3:42
  10. "Fifteen Months" – 4:30
  11. "Maria Dolores" (F. Garcia, J. Morillo) – 3:25
Vanguard - VGJ-6570 - 1971
reel-to-reel tapes on eBay

It is a magnificent album!

Styrous® ~ Friday, January 31, 2014

No comments:

Post a Comment

PLEASE NOTE: comments are moderated BEFORE they are posted so DO NOT appear immediately.

Thank you.